ATCOG Celebrates National Public Safety Telecommunications Week

In celebration of National Telecommunications Week, the Ark-Tex Council of Governments 9-1-1 Program honored the dedicated dispatchers of the nine-county ATCOG region. ATCOG 9-1-1 Program Manager Rea Washington, ATCOG 9-1-1 PSAP Operations Coordinator Merle Luster, and ATCOG GS Technician Ben Duncan presented them with gifts and certificates of appreciation.

In times of severe personal crisis and community-wide calamity, the first point of contact for those seeking any type of emergency services information is a 9-1-1 dispatcher. The public safety answering locations that receive these calls have emerged as the first access point for persons seeking immediate relief during an emergency.

Public safety agencies nationwide take the second full week in April to recognize the pivotal role played by telecommunicators who utilize telephones, radios, computers, and technical skill to provide support to the public, law enforcement, fire services, emergency medical services, and other governmental field personnel. This week is used to recognize and thank the men and women of public safety communications and to publicly celebrate and honor those who are the lifeline between someone who needs help and those who respond to give it.

Public Safety Answering Points (9-1-1 Call Centers) in the ATCOG region include: Atlanta Police Department, Bi-State Information Center, Cass County Sheriff’s Office, Delta County Sheriff’s Office, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office, Hopkins County Sheriff’s Office, Morris County Sheriff’s Office, Mt. Pleasant Police Department, New Boston Police Department, Paris Police Department, Red River County Sheriff’s Office, Sulphur Springs Police Department, Titus County Sheriff’s Office, and Lamar County Sheriff’s Office.