TRAHC Presents the 2018-2019 Hero Awards

The Texarkana Regional Arts & Humanities Council presented its 2018-2019 Hero Awards on October 4 before Sir James and Lady Galway took the Perot Theatre stage. The Hero Awards began in 2001 to recognize special individuals or groups who share TRAHC’s mission of “Growing People and Community Through the Arts.” These honorees are also models of excellence, demonstrating their commitment not only with words but also with their actions.
Honorees included: Leadership Award – Lynn Whitt and DeAnna Craytor; Arts Partner Award – Jerome LeGrand; Arts Champion Award – David Orr; Arts Educator Award – Shea Phillips; ArtsSmart Award – Melanie Melson and Virginia Schwope; Young Cool Creatives Award – Sarah and Joel Wright; Standing Ovation Award – Alice Coleman; Betty Parker Award – Mary Starrett; Outstanding Community Impact – Bowie County; and 2018 TRAHC Heroes Award Artist – Gloria Ross.

(front row) Virginia ‘Ginny’ Schwope, Shea Phillips, DeAnna Craytor, Mary Starrett, Lynn Whitt and Alice Coleman; (back row) Kay Thomas, David Orr, Judge James Carlow, Jerome LeGrand, Joel Wright and Sarah Wright