TRAHC Hero Awards

The Texarkana Regional Arts & Humanities Council honored the recipients of its 19th annual Hero Awards on September 14 in Cabe Hall at the Regional Arts Center. Awards were designed by Pace Glass and presented by Brian Goesl, TRAHC Executive Director, and Ken Cowling, TRAHC Board President.

The TRAHC Hero Awards began in 2001 to recognize special individuals or groups who share TRAHC’s mission of “growing people and community through the arts.” These honorees are also models of excellence, demonstrating their commitment not only with words but also with their actions.

This year’s awards winners were: Leadership Award - Don Morriss, Arts Partner Award - Texas Pioneer Foundation, Arts Champion Award - Mary Jane Orr, Arts Educator Award - Amanda Langley, ArtsSmart Award - Marissa Escobar, Young Cool Creatives Award - Silfida “Sil” D.C. Gomez, Standing Ovation Award - Pat Purcell, Betty Parker Award - Mark Van Herpen and Outstanding Community Impact Award - Yates Foundation.